Tips for Attending a Book Reading

Don’t forget. I’m reading this Saturday in Lafayette and Monday in Baton Rouge. Now, I know this is almost as exciting as the NFC Championship on Sunday and this may cause you to become confused. So I thought I’d make like Jersey Shore and tell you about the situation. (Note for New Yorkers, there will be a reading in Brooklyn on Feb. 11. Mark your calendars now)

Basic ground rules.

No shirt, no shoes, no service.

DON’T get together with 39 of your friends and paint the letters necessary to spell out The First Annual Grand Prairie Rabbit Festival on your chests.

But DO bring friends.

DO bring friends who haven’t heard of the book or haven’t bought the book. Barnes & Noble would like to sell books.

DO show up early and buy a copy from Barnes & Noble if you don’t already have one.

DON’T just take a copy off the Barnes & Noble table, have me sign it and then walk out the store. They will gang tackle you and haul you off to jail.

While I’m reading, DO pretend to be extremely fascinated. There won’t be cue cards telling you when to laugh or cry, so you’ll have to figure out the appropriate moments for such behavior.

DON’T boo or hiss.

Sometimes, there is a Q&A session after the reading. DON’T ask me about my personal life, who that one character was really based on, if I know the way to San Jose and what kind of moron came up with the crawfish etouffee recipe in the back of the book.

While I’m signing, DO feel free to tell me the correct way to spell your name. You’d be surprised and how bad my spelling can be sometimes.

DON’T cut the line just because you think you know me. Chances are, most people there will know me. And my cousins from Ville Platte WILL beat you like a red-headed stepchild.

DO forward details about the event (or this email) to everyone you know.

Can’t wait to see yall.

Lafayette reading is at Barnes & Noble at 2 p.m Saturday afternoon. Baton Rouge is at CitiPlace Barnes & Noble on Monday night at 7 p.m.

For more details about the events go here and here

4 thoughts on “Tips for Attending a Book Reading

Leave a Reply

